Take Notes Adults

I saw something today that really struck me.

And I mean, really struck me. It made the wheels in my brain turn, and as soon as I saw it, I knew I had to write about it. I hope it makes you think too…

So today, I was waiting to pick up the kids I nanny in the afternoons from school. The carpool at their school is a walk-up carpool which means that all of the parents/guardians/etc. stand on one side of the rope and the teachers walk their kids out on the other side of the rope. It looks something like this, (except the poles are not in the ground, they just have round, cement bottoms to hold them in place) just so you have a visual:

roped-off-guest-area

As I walked up, I noticed that one of the poles had fallen down. There were probably 50+ parents standing around, and no one did anything about it. Myself included. I know everyone saw that it had fallen because it was quite noticeable; however, no one did aything at all.

That, however, is not what struck me. What happened next is what is causing me to write this post.

When the bell rang and the kids came out, literally the FIRST kid that came out saw that the pole had fallen over. He immediately rushed over to stand it back up. He ran off, and it fell over again.

Another child fixed it. 

It fell again. 

Another child fixed it. 

 

I couldn’t help but feel ashamed for myself and everyone around me.

This kid did something that no grown person had been willing to do

He simply saw something that needed to be done and did it with absolutely no hesitation or second thought.

It made me think back to the movie Robots. I haven’t seen this movie in a long time, but I do remember this quote from the last time I saw it:seeaneed

Adults, we need to take notes. There is so much we can learn from children. What causes us to refuse to meet simple needs we see around us every day? Is it our pride? Self-centeredness? Apathy? I don’t know exactly what it is for each individual, but may we learn from this encounter I had today. As we go through our days may we seek to fill the simple needs that we see everywhere. Let’s become others-centered instead of self-centered.

As Christians, we should do this out of the overflow of Christ’s love in our hearts. We should look for every opportunity to serve because the Lord is surely watching us and seeing how well we do at meeting the needs we see. What we do (and what those sweet children did today) does not go unnoticed by the Father because whatever we do for others, we are actually doing for Him.

How willing we are to meet needs is a direct reflection of our love for Christ. 

“God is not unjust; He will not forget your work and the love you have shown Him as you have helped his people and continue to help them.” 

Hebrews 6:10

So today, and tomorrow, and every day after that, let’s resolve to live a life of service. A life where we are willing to lay down our pride and do something for another. A life where we see needs and then fill them.

I hope this inspires you and encourages you. I know it did me.

Read on.

~ CB

Leave a Reply

