A Most Beautiful S(o)nset

The other day, I was driving home from going out of town for the weekend. I was driving east, so the sun was setting behind me. I could tell from the little bit of it that I saw in my rearview mirror that it was a beautiful sunset.

Because it looked so beautiful, I decided to pull over on the side of the road and look at it for a bit. When I opened my car door and stepped out, I was standing face to face with one of the most beautiful sunsets I had ever seen.

It was so bright that I could hardly even look straight at it. None of the pictures I tried to take with the camera on my phone did it any justice, but here is a picture I found online that does a better job of almost capturing what it was like:

sunset_clouds_by_japanesechibi-d6gcz3n.jpg

As I was sitting there, thinking and praying about the crazy week I had ahead of me, a thought occurred to me.

How amazing is it that the Lord still paints His glory across the sky of a cursed, fallen world? It’s as if we can hear His voice saying,

“I’m still here.”

“I still want to redeem and reconcile creation back to Myself.”

“Behold My works and be drawn to Me.”

Christ still loves us and calls us to Himself. The beauty of this SUNset pales in comparison to the beauty of the fact that God’s SON was SET in the middle of fallen humanity on a mission to seek and save that which was lost (aka you and me and everyone else who ever had breath) to live a sinless life and die a sinless death.

So consider the beauty of creation and how God speaks through it and calls us unto Himself. Consider the sunsets. Consider the stars. Consider the trees and the wind and the rain. Hear His voice speaking through them.

“The heavens declare the glory of God, and the sky above proclaims his handiwork.”

Psalm 19:1

Read on.

~ CB

Leave a Reply

