Eat on the Run: Why I Blog

I want my blog to be a salad bar. 

A place of nourishment. A place where everything is fresh. A place of variety. A place where you can be fed quickly.

I don’t want my blog to be a fast-food drive-thru. 

A place that is convenient but provides only temporary, non-nutritious filling. A place that is easy but doesn’t sustain you. 

tmp-deli-case-0595

I absolutely LOVE what Tod Blosinger writes in his chapter in the book The New Media Frontier. He says:

“Blogs and other new media allow us to ‘eat on the run’ and to get fed spiritually with insights, encouragement, and conversation with a wide variety of readily accessible spiritual ‘food.'” (117)

I mean wow. That is such a good explanation of what blogging should look like and what I desire my blog to be. 7b63d1e416adf3ce562da5cc79caea0b_bad-food-clipart-no-fast-food-clipart_1133-1122

I want this to be a place that you can come to get fed rich, nutritious spiritual food for life.

I want the information on here to be applicable, relevant, and real. 

I want it to be quick, accessible on the go, but also intentional and full of meaning. 

I have been doing a good bit of reading lately about what makes people drawn to read blogs in general. Why do people like to read stories about other people’s lives, short encouragements in their faith, or witty posts about humor or random life things?

Nine reasons people like to read blogs were outlined in an article I read recently. (Read the full article here)

The two reasons that stuck out the most to me were number 1 and number 4. Want to know what they were? Hope so because I’m going to tell you anyway…

“Convenient Information Seeking”

and

“Guidance/Opinion seeking”

People are looking for something that they can “eat on the go” (convenient) but also something nutritious and filling (guidance).

That is what I want Turning Wheels to be for you. I want and pray that this is a blog that:

  • Provides encouragement in your walk with the Lord
  • Is concise enough to read in the carpool line or in the waiting room at the dentist
  • Is deep enough to fill you up but “shallow” enough to make you want to come back for more

As I move forward in this blogging endeavor, I want your comments.

I want your constructive criticism.

I want your SUGGESTIONS! Please let me know what you would like me to write about and I will try my best to do it. (It’s hard to come up with stuff on my own sometimes!)

I hope and pray that this blog mirrors what Bolsinger described in his chapter. Even though it is not a replacement for the true nourishment of your local church or small group, I hope that it is a nutritious snack (or salad bar) to sustain and encourage you throughout the week.

So please, let me know what you think. Let me know what you would like to read about. Let me know what your favorite items on the “salad bar” are and what you most like to “snack” on.

And as always…

Read on. 

~ CB

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

