You Seriously Never. Know.

Honestly, I don’t really even know how to start this post.

I am just going to write what’s on my heart right now and hope that it speaks to your heart as well.

You seriously never know.

You never know what is going on in people’s lives.


Your server at the pancake house tonight? She’s been working all day.

Her feet probably hurt. She’s serving rude college kids for the most part who couldn’t care less about her.

And you know what? Her heart is hurting too. In fact, it’s broken. 

She just lost her twin babies. 


depressed young man sitting on the benchThere are people all around you, maybe even right this moment, that are hurting.

These people are broken, empty, and thirsty.

I sit with tears in my eyes as I type right now and think about them. How can our hearts not break for them if we are children of God?


The guy you gave a gospel tract to at the restaurant?

He had been asking the Lord to speak to him. 

He needed confirmation that he was where he was supposed to be. 

You had no idea. 


But how would you know? If go about your own business, avoiding eye contact because then you just might have to talk to that person…

I’m speaking to myself here. Even now, I am so convicted of doing just that. The “you” I speak of is me.

So often, I live in my own little bubble, not interested in entertaining the problems of other people because I have issues and struggles of my own right?

But so what? How dare I have the audacity to think that my own problems make me exempt from caring for the needs of others. I mean, after all, have I not read:

“Let each of you look not only to his own interests, but ALSO to the interests of OTHERS.” Philippians 2:4

What do we do when we encounter the widows and orphans of this world?

If we truly claim to be Christ-followers, we should do as He did. 

Because you know what?

When it comes to being the hands and feet of Jesus every single day (as we are called to do)…

  • He doesn’t really care if you are “too tired”
  • He doesn’t accept the excuse that you “don’t know what to say” 
  • It doesn’t remotely phase Him that a particular situation might make you uncomfortable (do you realize how many very uncomfortable situations He was in while He walked this Earth?) 

This is a hard reality to face, but it is one that I have been hit SO hard by lately.

As modern-day Christ-followers, we have somehow fooled ourselves into thinking that Jesus cares to hear our excuses as to why we can’t obey Him.

Do we really think that when He lays on our heart to do something, us giving Him an excuse will make Him change His mind and/or take it back? Because I honestly used to act that way and still do sometimes, not going to lie. (Trust me, I am far from having it all together.)

STORYPIX-StopsignII

A few years ago, I was listening to a sermon and the preacher gave an acronym for the word STOP.

S – Spend

T – Time

O – On 

P – People

 

So today, practice this. At least once. Ask the Lord to give you an opportunity to “stop.” And when He does, don’t give excuses. Listen to Him, obey Him, and be blessed and be a blessing because of it.

Because you seriously never know who you could touch. Who you could speak life into. Who you could encourage.

Be others-centered today. And every day for that matter.

(More on this topic soon because it obviously gets me fired up.)

Read on. 

~ CB

(Also, both situations described are real-life situations I have come into contact with in the last few months. You can’t make this kind of stuff up. Our God will work though us if we will obey Him.)

2 thoughts on “You Seriously Never. Know.

  1. Thank you for the reminder! SO very true. In 63 years of living and 37 of those being in ministry as a pastor’s wife, I’ve never heard the STOP acrostic. Believe me, I won’t forget it.
    By the way, you have a way with words! “)
    Love you,
    “Miss Debby”

    Like

Leave a Reply

